FANDOM


Le père William Kinley était un personnage majeur de la quatrième saison ainsi que son principal antagoniste. Il était un prêtre obsédé par une prophétie impliquant Lucifer Morningstar et son premier amour, libérant apparemment l'enfer sur Terre.

Il fut finalement tué par Eve et devint le vaisseau du démon Dromos qui cherchait à faire de Charlie le nouveau roi de l'enfer avant que Lucifer, Amenadiel, Maze, Eve et Chloe ne déjouent le complot. Lucifer força les démons à retourner en enfer, laissant le corps vide de Kinley derrière lui.

Histoire

Saison 4

Dans Tout va très bien, Kinley révèle avoir persuadé Chloe de rejoindre sa cause de bannissement de Lucifer en enfer.

Dans L'Enfer de Dante, des flashbacks révèlent que Kinley croit que Lucifer est responsable des horreurs de l'histoire, du simple fait d'être sur Terre. Dans le présent, il essaie de faire croire à Chloe que Lucifer est le mal et de mener à bien le plan de le droguer pour un exorcisme. Cependant, après que Chloe ait appris qu'elle rendait Lucifer vulnérable et qu'il est prêt à subir un coup fatal pour sauver sa vie même s'il sait qu'il peut définitivement en mourir elle décide de l'abandonner. Sans se décourager, Kinley décide d'adopter une nouvelle approche et parle directement à Lucifer.

Dans Homme de peu de foi, Kinley révèle son plan de renvoyer Lucifer en enfer, mais déforme l'histoire de Chloe pour donner l'impression que Chloe travaillait avec un autre prêtre. Alors que Lucifer le doute, à l'instar du prêtre local, Kinley décide de créer un scénario pour forcer Lucifer à révéler son diable face à son camarade douteux. Il trompe un agent de la réforme en lui faisant croire que deux de ses anciens clients sont revenus à leurs anciennes habitudes, ce qui l’oblige à faire une folle folie en s’imaginant qu’il débarrassait le monde du mal. En regardant depuis une pièce cachée, Kinley s'attendait à ce que Lucifer dévoile le visage de son diable en colère pour tous les morts, mais il se rend compte que quelque chose ne va pas quand le mandataire VEUT être puni. Chloe le confronte plus tard, réalisant qu'essayer de se débarrasser de Lucifer n'est que sa propre croisade privée. Même arrêté, Kinley est sûr d'avoir empêché la prophétie de faire du mal de la part de Lucifer d'être avec son premier amour.

Dans Le Propre du diable, Chloe lui rend visite après avoir harcelé constamment pour la voir. Il révèle la prophétie à Chloe, la rendant paranoïaque à propos d'Ève.

Dans Sauver Lucifer, il est kidnappé par Maze et Ève parce qu'Ève pense, dans ses délires habituels, qu'elle peut faire en sorte qu'une situation ne soit pas à son avantage. Lorsqu'on lui demande de dire à Lucifer que la prophétie est fausse, Kinley refuse. Après le départ de Maze pour voir la naissance de Charlie, Kinley tente de tuer Ève pour empêcher la prophétie. Cependant, Ève l'a tué à la place, l'envoyant en enfer. Dromos prend possession de son corps dans C'est qui le nouveau roi de l'enfer ?.

Personnalité

Kinley représente un exemple d'un méchant "héros de sa propre histoire": dans son fanatisme, il pense qu'il protège réellement le monde du mal et que tout ce qu'il fait est dans l'intérêt du plus grand nombre. En conséquence, son arrogance l'a amené à se lancer dans un complot en vue d'assassiner et de manipuler ceux qui l'entouraient au nom de l'arrêt de la prophétie. En fin de compte, il prend un goût d'humilité après avoir été mortellement blessé par Eve et elle déclare pouvoir transmettre un message à l'enfer: il lui demande pourquoi elle pense aller en enfer, mais Eve lui répond: "Juste un pressentiment".

Notes

  • Il attribue à Lucifer les nazis, l'incendie de Chicago et les meurtres de Malcolm; il croit que la seule présence de Lucifer est à l'origine de ces problèmes. Alors que les deux premiers sont probablement des coïncidences, Amenadiel est à blâmer pour ce dernier.
  • Dans la plus grande ironie, Kinley a révélé la prophétie qu'il essayait d'empêcher.
  • Son cadavre est le premier à être posséder par un démon dans la série.

Galerie

Sauf mention contraire, le contenu de la communauté est disponible sous licence CC-BY-SA .

Lucifer Wiki
Advertisement

When the Devil walks the Earth and finds his first love... evil shall be released.
— Kinley to Chloe Decker
in "Devil Is as Devil Does"

Father William Kinley was the primary antagonist in season four. He was a priest obsessed with a prophecy that involved Lucifer Morningstar and his first love apparently unleashing Hell on Earth.

He was eventually killed by Eve and became the vessel of the demon, Dromos, who sought to make Charlie the new King of Hell before Lucifer, Amenadiel, Maze, Eve and Chloe foiled the plot. Lucifer forced the demons to return to Hell, leaving Kinley's dead body behind.

History[]

In "Everything's Okay" Kinley is revealed to have persuaded Chloe to join his cause of banishing Lucifer back to hell.

In "Somebody's Been Reading Dante's Inferno", flashbacks reveal that Kinley believes that Lucifer is responsible for all the horrible things that happened in history, just from him being on Earth. In the present, he tries to get Chloe to believe that Lucifer is evil, and to go through with the plan to drug him for an exorcism. After Chloe is told by Lucifer that she causes him to be vulnerable, however, and that he was still willing to take a fatal wound for her, even when he knew it could kill him, she abandons Kinley, telling him Lucifer is a good man. Undeterred, Kinley decides to take a new approach and talks to Lucifer directly, hoping to break Lucifer and Chloe's loyalty to one another.

In "O, Ye of Little Faith, Father", Kinley reveals his plan to send Lucifer back to hell, but twists the story so it sounds like Chloe was the one who wanted Lucifer banished. While Lucifer doubts him, as does the local priest, Kinley decides to create a scenario to force Lucifer to reveal his devil face to his doubting superior. He tricks a reform officer into thinking that two of his past clients have slipped back into their old habits, causing him to go on a murder spree in the belief he was ridding the world of evil. While watching from a hidden room, Kinley expected Lucifer to reveal his devil face in his rage, but Lucifer realizes something is off when the proxy actually wants to be punished. Lucifer, meanwhile, is deeply hurt to find the vial the priest described in Chloe's bag, knowing at least some of what the priest told him was apparently true.

Chloe later confronts Kinley, realizing that his vendetta against Lucifer is just his own private crusade. She arrests him for conspiracy to commit murder, and his superior assures her he will testify against the rogue priest. Kinley is sure he has prevented the prophecy of evil being unleashed by separating Lucifer from his first love.

In "Devil Is as Devil Does", Chloe finally visits Kinley after his constant badgering to see her. He recites the prophecy to Chloe, and it scared her, but it also made her think that Eve was Lucifer's first love and the key to the prophecy.

In "Save Lucifer", Kinley is kidnapped from a police transport by Maze and Eve. Eve hoped that Kinley would prove to Lucifer that the prophecy was 'nonsense', and that they could be together again. When asked to tell Lucifer the prophecy is false, Kinley refuses, and has nothing but contempt for Eve whom he calls the 'original sinner.' After Maze leaves to see Charlie's birth, Kinley attempts to kill Eve to prevent the prophecy. But when Eve kills him instead, sending him to hell she tells him to take the message to Hell, to come and get their king. The demon Dromos takes possession of his body in "Who's da New King of Hell?".

Personality[]

Kinley represents an example of a "hero of his own story" villain: in his fanaticism he believes he is genuinely protecting the world from evil, and that everything he does is for the greater good. As a result, his arrogance has led him to engage the murder and manipulating those around him in the name of his 'greater good.' "O, Ye of Little Faith, Father" shows him lying to Oscar to get him to kill former Los Xs members; the first victim was a former drug addict, but was proven clean in a drug test from a week before her murder. Ultimately he gets a taste of humility after he is fatally wounded by Eve and she declares he can deliver a message to Hell: he asks why she thinks he will go to Hell, only for Eve to reply, "Just a hunch."

Trivia[]

  • He blames Lucifer for Nazis, the Chicago fire, Malcolm's murders; and he believes Lucifer's mere presence alone causes these. While the first two are likely coincidences, Amenadiel is to blame for the last.
  • In the greatest irony, Kinley brought forth the prophecy he was trying to prevent.
  • Kinley is the only main antagonist (besides Malcom Graham) not to originate from the Lucifer or Sandman comics and biblical stories.
  • Kinley is the only main antagonist that isn't part of the main cast.

Appearances[]

Season Four
#1 "Everything's Okay" Appears
#2 "Somebody's Been Reading Dante's Inferno" Appears
#3 "O, Ye of Little Faith, Father" Appears
#7 "Devil Is as Devil Does" Appears
#8 "Super Bad Boyfriend" Mentioned
#9 "Save Lucifer" Appears
#10 "Who's da New King of Hell?" Mentioned
Season Five
#9 "Family Dinner" Mentioned

Gallery[]

External Links[]

Advertisement